Self Portrait with Air Guitar

Angie Brown | self-portrait with air guitar

Sometimes I get in a doodly mood, but can’t think of anything to draw. I’ve always thought illustrator Gemma Correll’s What I Wore Today project looked like fun, and with the hallowed advent of boot weather, it seemed like the perfect time to start a similar project of my own. Besides, I really need to work on my people skills… as in how I might draw them n’ stuff. I tend to draw lots of animals and plants, architecture and such, but not humans very often. I also want to explore movement and action more, something a bit more dynamic than the ol’ flat and frontal. And somehow all that landed me here… playing the air guitar. I’m not sure where the idea came from, but it amuses me quite a bit. So far, I have four such renderings of the past week’s fashions, and in all of them, I am wailing away mid-solo on my imaginary Les Paul. This is my favorite. Rock on, y’all.

2 thoughts on “Self Portrait with Air Guitar

Leave a Reply

