Because cats!

Angie Brown | illustration

So far looks like 2014 is Year of the Cat– Because Cats! Above, for my BFF, Joel–  a portrait of his cats in color pencil and framed up nice. I tried something new here with the stylized fur texture and negative space, and I do like the way it turned out. And then below, I drew these cats for the local feral rescue organization– they’re having a Mardi Gras-themed fundraiser next month. I’ve designed the poster using this drawing and will also be donating the original watercolor/ink to the silent auction.

Angie Brown | illustrationOtherwise, I have been working on a few other things that are not cats or cat-related. Because I do sometimes draw other stuff. Stay tuned!

5 thoughts on “Because cats!

  1. Just found your site. I saw a page from your journal on Pinterest and just loved it. Is it a paper bag journal? I loved the Italian pages that were added. In two months I will be traveling to Italy to meet some family members for the first time. I saw that you have been to Italy several times. I would love to see more of your journal and was wondering if you would share how you made it. I am retired and I do a lot of scrapbooking but I like the idea of starting on a journal. I live on James Island, just a hop across the bridge from Charleston.

    1. Hi Anna! Thanks for writing. That’s a great idea for a post– I’ll have to scan in some new pages and talk a bit about my methods soon. My art journal is made from a paperback book of poems in Italian. I’m sure you’ll enjoy your trip to Italy very much and come back with lots of material for a journal/scrapbook. Thanks again for your very kind words, and check back soon for the art journaling update.

Leave a Reply

