what i did with my staycation

Hello, 4-day weekend. So nice to have you here. So sorry to see you go… It’s been a lot of fun, having four consecutive days off and no homework to slog over. I painted. I meant to do a lot of other stuff, but I got into painty-land and just kind of stayed there. The large canvas is almost finished and I’m really in love with it. It’s my most ambitious painting to date. Here’s a li’l preview:
DSC05633
That’s only about one square foot of the 3′ x 3′ canvas. More about it when it’s done.

I went for a walk Sunday, in the industrial wasteland of North Charleston’s old navy yard. That place is a veritable goldmine of visual riches. See here:

DSC05536

an inexplicably festive balloon

DSC05545

the new sculptures are up at Riverside Park. this year’s show is better than last year’s.

DSC05557

this one makes noise. the wind hits the vertical steel poles & makes a bongy bell-type song.

DSC05577

the cattlegate. employees only, single-file, no pushing.

DSC05580

DSC05581

DSC05582

DSC05585

DSC05586

DSC05593

DSC05595

DSC05605

DSC05627

So that is my latest photo essay about the post-industrial world of North Charleston. I’m working on a new photo book through blurb.com. That’s on my list of Things I Should’ve Done, But I Just Painted Instead.

Leave a Reply

